“I would have never been able to come this far.”

“It was summer of 2016 and I had been unemployed for a few months Sang-Won2with the hope of getting into college. It had been a dream of mine ever since I graduated from high school several years ago. However, I was struggling with how to enroll in college, what to do with the financial aid application process and I was in fear of running out of my savings. I just moved back from Japan in 2015, and even though I was born and lived in the U.S. in my early childhood, everything was new and exciting but at the same time foreign and sometimes frustrating to me.

Then I found Seattle Education Access online. I was in desperate need of help for all the application processes and with academic preparation, so I reached out to the SEA by myself. I was introduced to my Education Advocate, Penny. Even though it was right before the start of fall quarter, Penny was able to help me with finishing class registration and financial aid applications, and I was able to get into college classes in a timely manner. She really helped me feel comfortable on the college campus. Penny connected me to Drew, an SEA tutor, who was a great help in preparing for placement tests. I assumed I would be placed into developmental classes, but, unexpectedly, I did well on the tests and was placed right into college-level classes.

I have greatly relied on their continued support throughout the following quarters, even extending beyond academic affairs. Penny has been a huge support for resources in and outside school; she has helped me apply for and earn scholarships, get health care, go through the complicated paperwork at school, and so on. To be honest, studying at college has been difficult for me with my limited English ability and my long break after graduating high school. Although thanks to Drew’s tutoring help, I have been able to hang on to the fast-paced college course load. I even earned a 3.5 GPA in my first quarter of college.

Without them, I would have never been able to come this far. I am looking forward to continuing my studies and transferring onto a 4-year college. I am still deciding what my major would be, but I want to complete a Bachelor’s degree and eventually gain more English, academic and employable skills.  My dream is to use my bilingual ability to work in a global setting. I thank you for your continuous support and investment to my success through Seattle Education Access.”

– Sang-Won

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

