“Having an Education Advocate made the whole process 1,000 times easier.”

SEA student Margarita is studying to be a nurse and receives support through SEA’s Mody Scholarship Fund, started by Simmone & Ashok Misra

My name is Margarita and I am 24 years old. This is my second year attending Renton Technical College and I am currently working on my pre-nursing classes, in order to get into a nursing program. My ultimate goal is and has always been to become a nurse. My father has had some health issues and I want to be more knowledgeable about medicine in order to better understand his experiences in the hospital or when he gets sick – and I want job stability.

Last year was my first year back in the educational world since leaving high school. If anyone ever asked me why that 5-year delay, I have to attribute it to two main reasons: the first one, money and the second, the fact that in my family I am the first generation to attend higher level education.

That combination can seriously intimidate anyone from pursuing their dreams, especially without having anyone to guide them or share knowledge about a world that is known very little of. My sister, who graduated from Renton Technical College, worked with SEA Education Advocate Jeff and suggested I ask for assistance with financial aid. When I found out about Seattle Education Access and all the services it offered, it gave me that boost I needed to return to school. Having an Education Advocate made the whole process 1,000 times easier.

I remember the exact moment I walked into Nicollette’s office and basically said “I’m ready to go back to school!” Her next words were even better, “Okay. Where do you want to go?” That question made me smile and assured me of so much. She let me know that if I ever had questions about anything, she was there to help. Ever since I met her, she hasn’t let me down!

Last year, I was super fortunate to receive a scholarship award through SEA’s Mody Fund and it was a tremendous help! Fall quarter, I was able to use my funds to pay for the portion of the tuition that my financial aid wasn’t able to cover. This was the best way to start of the year. I was able to focus on my studies and not worry about how I was going to pay my tuition or supplies. Winter quarter, I again was awarded more money and in the long run it helped tremendously. At the end of Spring quarter, I was left in debt, due to a few errors made by the financial aid office. Mind you, a much smaller debt because of the huge help SEA has been! But to be honest if it wasn’t for all the help SEA has given me, the pure thought of going back to school wouldn’t been possible.

Last year’s SEA scholarship helped me come back to school and stay in school. These funds have given me the opportunity to focus more on my studies than on how to pay for them. This year, it means the same and more. When I last left school I had a debt, a huge one for me. I didn’t know how I would be able to pay it off. Nicollette and I were able to work on a plan that gave me more peace at mind. This plan proved to be successful as I am now back enrolled in classes without a financial burden.

At this very moment, I am more than ready and inspired to work harder to accomplish my goal of becoming a nurse! This scholarship has given me that last boost I needed to hit the floor running and continue to work towards a dream my younger self created and all thanks to Seattle Education Access and The Mody Fund!

-Margarita

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

